
HOURS OF WORK-SUMMARY CHART 

 Ages 16 & 17 Must 

have completed 7th 

grade to work while 

school in session. (EC 

49112) 

Ages 14 & 15 Must 

have completed 7th 

grade to work while 

school in session (EC 

49112) 

Ages 12 & 13  

SCHOOL  

IN  

SESSION* 

4 hours per day on any 

schoolday** [EC 

49112; 49116; LC 

1391]  

 

8 hours on any non-

schoolday or on any day 

preceding a non-

schoolday. [EC 49112; 

49116; LC 1391]  

 

48 hours per week [LC 

1391]  

 

WEE students & 

personal attendants*** 

may work more than 4 

hours on a schoolday, 

but never more than 8. 

See text. [EC 49116; LC 

1391, 1392] 

3 hours per schoolday 

outside of school hours 

[EC 49112, 49116; LC 

1391]  

 

8 hours on any non-

schoolday  

 

18 hours per week [EC 

49116; LC 1391]  

 

WEE students may 

work during school 

hours & up to 23 hours 

per week. See text. [EC 

49116; LC 1391] 

May be employed only 

during school holidays 

and vacations (usually 

construed to include 

weekends). May never 

be employed on any 

schoolday, either before 

or after school. [EC 

49111] See text.  

 

Daily and weekly work 

hour maximums while 

school is in session are 

not specified in statute, 

but may not exceed the 

maximum allowed when 

school is not in session 

or the maximum stated 

on permit. [EC 49111; 

LC 1391, 1392] See 

text.  

 

Not eligible for WEE 

programs. [EC 49113]  

SCHOOL NOT IN 

SESSION 

8 hours per day [LC 

1391, 1392]  

 

48 hours per week [LC 

1391] 

8 hours per day [LC 

1391, 1392]  

 

40 hours per week [LC 

1391] 

8 hours per day [LC 

1391, 1392]  

 

40 hours per week [LC 

1391] 

SPREAD OF HOURS  5 a.m. – 10 p.m. 

However, until 12:30 

a.m. on any evening 

preceding a 

nonschoolday [LC 

1391]  

 

WEE students, with 

permission, until 12:30 

a.m. on any day [LC 

1391.1]  

 

Messengers: 6 a.m. – 9 

p.m. 

7 a.m. – 7 p.m., except 

that from June 1 through 

Labor Day, until 9 p.m. 

[LC 1391] 

7 a.m. – 7 p.m., except 

that from June 1 through 

Labor Day, until 9 p.m. 

[LC 1391] 

 

PENALTIES  

EC 49111, 49112, 49116 Misdemeanor. [EC 49182] LC 1297 Misdemeanor.[LC 1303] LC 1391 First violation, Class B, $500; second 

violation, Class B, $1,000; third and subsequent violations, Class A, $5,000 - $10,000. [LC 1288] Misdemeanor.[1303] LC 1392 Class 

A violation $5,000 - $10,000. (Minor must be a ward or apprentice.) Misdemeanor. [LC 1392]  

 Permits must be revoked (by school officials or the Labor Commissioner) if work exceeds the hours stated on the permit. [LC 

1300; EC 49164]  



HOURS OF WORK-SUMMARY CHART 
 With few exceptions, all employees are entitled to one day of rest in seven. [LC 551, 552] Days of rest may be accumulated 

providing that in each calendar month the employee receives the equivalent of one day of rest in seven. [LC 554] A violation 

of Sections 551, 552 and 554 is a misdemeanor. [LC 553]. School attendance is not considered work time.  

 See Chapter 11 of this digest for additional details on penalties  

 

*Statutes governing workhours for 14- and 15-year-olds use the phrase, "while school is in session", for the three-hour day, 18-hour 

week. California provides no precise definition of this phrase. However, the phrase is also used in federal regulations from which 

California's standard is derived [29 CFR 570.35(a)]. The U.S. Department of Labor considers the term "school in session" to mean the 

scheduled schooldays of the public school system in the county where the minor resides. A school week under federal standards is any 

week during which school is in session for at least one day. Thus, school is considered in session during any week that has at least one 

scheduled schoolday. Since the school session is derived from the schedule for the county's public schools, school may be considered 

in session for a minor who attends a private school that is closed during the summer if the public schools are in session at that same 

time.  

**A "schoolday" is any day that the minor is required to attend school for 240 minutes or more. [EC 49116; LC 1391]  

***"Personal attendant" is specifically defined; see "Household Occupations" in Chapter 7 of this digest.  

 


